Hook Script For Repository Backup

ggp
ggp
Hi All, I am new to Subversion. Can any one tell me how to write a post commit hook script for taking backup of repository?

Last updated

andyl
andyl
Is your server so unstable that you need to take a backup after every commit?
ggp
ggp
Hey it is not the case. I just wanted to know how to take the backup of repository. As i read in subversion book, u have to write hook script for it. So just wanted to know how to write it ?
andyl
andyl
I can't think of a good reason to use hook scripts to perform a backup, and I'd be surprised if the book actually recommended that (can you provide a link?). Perhaps you misunderstood? I have a script that I wrote scheduled nightly to run svnadmin hotcopy to make a backup copy of my repositories. There's also a hotcopy.py (I'm sure I have the name wrong, but it's close) that comes with subversion which is more sophisticated than my script. But taking a backup copy after every commit seems like a huge waste of time and resources.
lovedaddy
lovedaddy
mine This is what I did to have an incremental backup done (can be run from cron on an evening etc) [url]http://www.svnforum.org/2017/viewtopic.php?t=183&highlight=backup[/url]
angie
angie