Local State = History Scheduled
Hi I am running SmartSVN 7.6.2. Today I moved a folder from one parent folder to another. After the commit, the folder is correctly shown as moved but all files in that folder are shown with Local State = History Scheduled. I have always found that state hard to understand, as it seems to be a SmartSVN term, not used in the wider Subversion community. The Help states: "A parent directory has been added with history, which implicitly adds this file with history." But what does that mean? I found another post which states: "The folder that the files are in was moved/renamed or whatever and you have local uncommited changes in the older version of that folder, so it's something more like a tree conflict." But I don't think that my files had local uncommited changes. How can I resolve this state? Revert has no effect. Best regards David
I then closed and deleted the project in SmartSVN and then opened the working copy again. Now the 'History Scheduled' files are not shown at all by SmartSVN but look fine in TortoiseSVN. How can I show them again in SmartSVN? David
Ok, my mistake, 'show unchanged files' was not selected. Now I can see the files and they are shown as 'Unchanged'. So the conclusion is that my move unexpectedly gave a result of 'History scheduled', which I resolved by deleting the SmartSVN project and re-opening the working copy. May I suggest that there is a bug that is causing unnecessary 'History scheduled' states, and that the documentation needs to be improved to explain how to deal with this state? Best regards David
Hi David, Files marked as History-Scheduled indicate that a parent directory has been added with history, which implicitly adds this file with history. This means that the file is not actually a new file, but actually a direct descendant of some other file in the Subversion repository. This means that the file cannot be committed (there should be no output in svn diff, since the file has not actually changed). If you were to make some local modifications to the file, they would appear in SmartSVN (and svn diff output). This is expected and svn command should behave in exactly the same way. I hope this helps.
Hi Peter Thanks for your reply. But what is the user expected to do with a file marked 'History Scheduled'? Is it ok to leave it as it is or should some action be taken? I have just seen another instance of this. I renamed a parent folder and the states of the files in a folder under that renamed folder are now 'History scheduled'. You wrote 'svn command should behave in exactly the same way' but executing svn status on that folder shows nothing. Please will you explain what is the use of 'History scheduled' and what I should do about files marked with this state? BR David
Hi David, You don't have to do anything with these files. This status is only for informational purposes and it should change to 'unchanged' when you commit the directory rename/move. 'svn status' correctly shows nothing as there is no alteration as such to these files. I agree that it may be a bit confusing.
Hi Peter The status did not change to 'unchanged' when I committed the directory rename/move. I am going to raise a bug report for this. BR David
Great stuff, thanks!
DavidA;156520Hi Peter The status did not change to 'unchanged' when I committed the directory rename/move. I am going to raise a bug report for this. BR DavidHi David... I had the same issue. Can you post the link of bug report? Thanks!
Hi Matheus I can't get the bug report link at the moment, but I believe the bug is fixed in SmartSVN 7.6.3. Best regards David
That's right David, this was fixed in 7.6.3 as per the change log: http://www.smartsvn.com/smartsvn/changelog.txt - Commit: - after committing directory removal ("Just from SVN control"), removed instead of unversioned files were still displaying. - after committing moved/copied directory, "history-scheduled" files were still displaying.
Same issue in v8.6.3
liam.mclennan;158041That's right David, this was fixed in 7.6.3 as per the change log: http://www.smartsvn.com/smartsvn/changelog.txt - Commit: - after committing directory removal ("Just from SVN control"), removed instead of unversioned files were still displaying. - after committing moved/copied directory, "history-scheduled" files were still displaying.I am using v8.6.3, and after a commit done by selecting the "root" of my project, I have 2 files left saying "History Scheduled (Modified)". Double clickling shows "svn:mergeinof ADDED" with a new value like this: /branches/CBCBalances/JasperReports/AccountAnalysisFeeOverrideGroupAssignments.jrxml:506-527 /branches/CSVExportEnhancements/JasperReports/AccountAnalysisFeeOverrideGroupAssignments.jrxml:431-448 /branches/EzForex/JasperReports/AccountAnalysisFeeOverrideGroupAssignments.jrxml:3-144 /branches/FXRatePlans/JasperReports/AccountAnalysisFeeOverrideGroupAssignments.jrxml:345-523 /branches/HolidayFixes/JasperReports/AccountAnalysisFeeOverrideGroupAssignments.jrxml:200-233 /branches/NoticeEmailUpdates/JasperReports/AccountAnalysisFeeOverrideGroupAssignments.jrxml:190-252 /branches/SwapBalanceCheck/JasperReports/AccountAnalysisFeeOverrideGroupAssignments.jrxml:211-254 /branches/Swift72Narrative/JasperReports/AccountAnalysisFeeOverrideGroupAssignments.jrxml:511-514 /branches/WireAutomation/JasperReports/AccountAnalysisFeeOverrideGroupAssignments.jrxml:79-283 I cannot make it go away. When I select things to commit, it says that nothing is remaining to commit. Help :-)
Similar issue in version 8.6.6 (build #3409) After a commit done by selecting the "root" of the project, I have one file in local state "History Scheduled". It might be caused by following: The file was completely replaced in the trunk of our project. Not only the content changed. The complete file was replaced for what reason ever. The name and the location is the same as before. After merging the trunk into my development branch the above described behaviour occures.
Hi, this is still an issue in 9.1.2 build #5050. After renaming a directory, I wasn't able to commit due to "History Scheduled" changes. Instead, I used the terminal to manually commit the directory deletion and rename (eg. "svn commit oldname newname"). After that, it still showed History Scheduled until I restarted SmartSVN.
1-14 of 14
Reply to this discussion
You cannot edit posts or make replies: You should be logged in before you can post.