New Subversion Training Program Announced for 2011

WANdiscoLesley
WANdiscoLesley
WANdisco, a corporate sponsor of the Subversion open source project, with core developers from the project on staff and solutions that support the world's largest Subversion implementations, is offering a series of free bi-weekly one hour online training sessions for Subversion users and administrators. Registration is now available for the courses listed below. Early registration is recommended as space is limited.      Hidden Subversion  BROADCAST DETAILS  Wed, January 12, 2011  9:00 am PST / 12:00 pm EST  5:00 pm GMT / 6:00 pm CET    The course covers powerful, but relatively unknown and seldom used Subversion features that enable users to:  - Determine where a branch came from.  - Find out which branch a working copy belongs to.  - Revert a misapplied commit.  - Take advantage of svn:externals.  - Perform pattern matching in ignore lists.  - Selectively update a repository.  - Make log messages more useful with the tsvn:logsummary property.    Introduction to Branching and Merging  BROADCAST DETAILS  Wed, January 26, 2011  9:00 am PST / 12:00 pm EST  5:00 pm GMT / 6:00 pm CET    This session will cover basic concepts of Subversion branching and merging. Topics covered:  - What is a branch?  - When and why do we branch?  - Types of merges.  - When does a branch require a merge?  - Guidelines and best practices.  - Troubleshooting.    Advanced Branching and Merging  BROADCAST DETAILS  Wed, February 9, 2011  9:00 am PST / 12:00 pm EST  5:00 pm GMT / 6:00 pm CET    This course builds on the Introduction to Branching and Merging webinar with a focus on best practices and branching and merging strategies for group development. This session will also cover how to use mergeinfo effectively to track merge history and avoid duplicate merges. Merge conflict handling will also be discussed. Topics covered:  - Merge types - Reintegrating a branch, merging a range of revisions, merging two different trees.  - Meaning of merge messages.  - Usage of svn:mergeinfo.  - Analyzing branches using revision graphs.  - Enforcing branching standards.    Subversion Administration Best Practices  BROADCAST DETAILS  Wed, February 23, 2011  9:00 am PST / 12:00 pm EST  5:00 pm GMT / 6:00 pm CET    This training session will cover every aspect of Subversion administration including: defining policies and procedures, training and managing staff to ensure compliance, designing repository layout, backup and recovery, use of hook scripts and locking, and log monitoring and analysis. Topics covered:  - Setting policies and procedures.  - Training options.  - Repository organization.  - Backup and recovery issues.  - Use of hook scripts to control standards adherence.    Advanced Subversion Administration  BROADCAST DETAILS  Wed, March 9, 2011  9:00 am PST / 12:00 pm EST  5:00 pm GMT / 6:00 pm CET    This free training session will build on the material covered in the Subversion Administration Best Practices webinar. Attendees will learn how properties, hook scripts and reporting can be used to enforce standards and assist in managing a development team using Subversion. Topics Covered:  - Relating policies and procedures to Subversion capabilities.  - Setting properties to assist users.  - Hook scripts used for control and reporting.  - Key information to use when managing a Subversion project.  - Backup and recovery issues.    Getting Started with Subversion  BROADCAST DETAILS  Wed, March 23, 2011  9:00 am PDT / 12:00 pm EDT  4:00 pm GMT / 5:00 pm CET    This course is aimed at developers who are new to Subversion.  - Repository basics - creating and organizing.  - Checkouts, working folders, editing files and checkins.  - Reporting on changes.  - Simple branching.  - Simple merging.    To register for one of these free webinars, please visit http://www.wandisco.com/webinar/subversion/training    Thank you    Lesley  WANdisco

Last updated

WANdiscoLesley
WANdiscoLesley
Hidden Subversion    Don't forget,    HIDDEN SUBVERSION takes place next Wednesday January 12 2011!    This is our first webinar of 2011, and will cover powerful but relatively unknown and seldom used features of Subversion.    Sign up now to guarantee your place at: http://www.wandisco.com/webinar/subversion/hidden_svn    Thank you!
diste
diste
Will you repeat the training program later this year or next year? Sadly i missed all of them, thank you!

1-3 of 3

Reply to this discussion

You cannot edit posts or make replies: You should be logged in before you can post.